Return to Main Page

Back to Main Page

Back to Quiz Intro

paid for by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

Text version of the "Know the Law" Quiz

Question 1

Which of the following are NOT considered tobacco products by state law?

  • A. Pipes
  • B. Smokeless tobacco
  • C. Tobacco papers
  • D. Cigars
  • E. Snuff
  • F. All of the above are considered tobacco products

Correct Answer: F. The state defines tobacco products as "any substance that contains tobacco, including, but not limited to, cigarettes, cigars, pipes, snuff, smoking tobacco, tobacco papers, or smokeless tobacco.

Question 2

Which of the following tobacco products are legal to sell to people under 18?

  • A. None - all tobacco products are prohibited
  • B. Smokeless tobacco
  • C. Tobacco papers
  • D. Both B and C

Correct Answer: A. State law prohibits selling ANY tobacco product to persons under age 18.

Question 3

According to state law, when someone approaches you to buy tobacco, what should you do?

  • A. Ask how old they are
  • B. Ask for photo ID to see how old they are
  • C. Decide whether you think they are 18, and ask for ID if you're not sure

Correct Answer: B. Always check ID -- it's your only defense if an inspector catches you selling to a minor.

Question 4

What is the minimum amount the state will fine you personally if you sell tobacco products to someone younger than 18?

  • A. $50
  • B. $75
  • C. $100

Correct Answer: C. Selling tobacco to a minor can result in a personal fine of at least $100 for the first offense!

Question 5

State law requires that tobacco product sales be "vendor assisted." What does this mean?

  • A. Tobacco must be locked up or out of reach of all customers
  • B. Tobacco must be sold in vending machines
  • C. Tobacco must be within reach only for those over 18

Correct Answer: A. State law requires that ALL tobacco sales be vendor-assisted, which means no customers can access the products without assistance from an employee. The only exception is for stores that sell ONLY tobacco, meaning at least 75% of the items in the store are tobacco products.

Question 6

State law allows inspectors to make sure that stores comply with the law. When can these inspections occur?

  • A. Within a week after the store receives a written notice
  • B. Anytime, without prior notice
  • C. Once a year on a date agreed upon with the store

Correct Answer: B. Inspections can occur at any time, with no warning.

Question 7

Which of the following is prohibited (not allowed) by law?

  • A. Selling an open, partial pack of cigarettes
  • B. Selling single cigarettes
  • C. Giving away single cigarettes as a promotion
  • D. All of the above are prohibited by law.

Correct Answer: D. State law says that cigarettes must be sold only in their original sealed package from the manufacturer.

back to top

Home | Know the Law | Take a Quiz | Idaho IDs | Play a Game | Retailer Resources | Newsletter Archive | More Information | Contact Us
This site is provided to assist Idaho retailers in training their employees.
Completing this training does not convey any official sanction from the State of Idaho. More Information.